Posted in Letters

To the one with dreams, ambitions and wishes

Hey,

Everyone has dreams, and you too would have many. People often confuse dreams, wishes, and ambitions as the same thing. To me, they are all different. My ambition is to have a satisfying career, while my dream is to build a life together. My wishes can be categorized if I put them analytically. Some of them are common, like the ones everyone might have on their bucket list. But that is not what I want to tell you about. Do you also have these sets of wishes you know are so simple, yet not that simple? You want to live them, but you cherish the idea of them so intensely that you are scared if they happen, you might no longer be able to hold on to them. Does it even make any sense? Well, I don’t know.

I have a set of fancy wishes that I hold close to me. I live them vicariously. Whenever I have a bad day or feel filled with some kind of nostalgia, I think about these little wishes of mine. They’re not huge; they’re tiny things that make me feel good. They help me escape into another world where I’m not bound by my everyday problems. They take me to a world where I can smile without the uncertainty of what will happen next, where I don’t need to fear judgment.

If I were to think about it, I could easily make them come true, but I feel I might lose the warmth or the hope of a future once I fulfill them. They provide me with comfort, which keeps me going, and the motivation to be a better person. Sometimes, it is the idea of the wish we love that we create a delusion around it. We brew stories and hypothesize. I could make them all happen, and there isn’t anything stopping me, but somehow, I am in love with their idea that I fear losing it.

You might think I’m insane or borrowed some fanciful idea from the novels I’ve read. But I feel this is what makes me the person I am. If you give it some thought, you might also have such weird little wishes you hold so close to you that you have fallen in love with them. If they materialize, they might not live up to the standards you set, and they might disappoint you. It might not make any sense, but you cherish the idea so much that you are scared that you will be left with nothing, without any hope.

Procastinating & hopeful
A dreamy self

Leave a comment