Posted in golden moments

Just Another Day

Autumn is here. I think it is a bit late this year. I took a stroll today. Well, I had to go to the supermarket to buy some groceries. But yeah, why not romanticize life a little? There is a church near my house, and today, there seemed to be some ceremony because there were several people present. Right when I reached in front of the church, there was a cold breeze, and leaves started flying around. It was as if the branches were dancing to the music created by the breeze. Some leaves did get tangled in my hair, but it felt good. It wasn’t dark as the sun hadn’t set.

The sky was pretty clear, and it was as if somebody had oil painted with shades of blue. On the way, a tree-lined path led to the campus buildings. The signal had turned green for the vehicles, and we pedestrians had to wait until it turned red to cross the road. Surprisingly, I did not feel annoyed; it seemed as if the green signal was glowing with the trees in the background. The cold breeze had a soothing effect on my senses, almost like a gentle embrace from nature. It amuses me how something as simple as the wind can have such a calming influence. While I have walked this path many times before, it was as if I was experiencing it with a fresh perspective.

When I brushed aside the strands of hair from my face, even though it was for a fleeting moment, I could sense the unadulterated joy that filled me. I was sure I would remember this moment for the next few days. There would have been countless such moments in life, but this time around, I chose to recognize it. I chose to make it a memory. It will remind me of the beauty and wonders that can be found in everyday life, even in the most familiar places.

Maybe nature was announcing the change of seasons. Most of the things look hopeful and poetic when the perspective changes. Sometimes, nature offers the best therapy one could ask for, providing us with serenity and solace. Maybe it was myself longing for some positivity. A moment of reflection and appreciation for things around us can change considerable things or even make us happy and bring a smile.

Leave a comment