Posted in Letters

To the one who is afraid to smile

Hey,

Do you know when a person is the most beautiful? It is when one smiles straight from the heart, devoid of any worries or anxiousness. I saw you trying to smile but noticed your eyes welling up with tears. I wanted to hug you tight, but I understood that you might burst into tears, and that’s not what you would have wished for then. Nonetheless, you should know that I’m here for you whenever you’re ready. You don’t have to share anything, and I won’t ask any questions. I’m here to listen whenever you feel like confiding in me.

It is natural to have bad days, and all of us are looking for a ray of hope in anything that comes across us. I know you are afraid, and I also know that you are anxious. I am not here to ask you to run the extra mile or do anything to take your mind off whatever that is worrying you. I know you are doing everything it takes to get yourself back on your feet. All your hard work and struggles are recognized, and do not let anyone, not even your self make you feel any less validated.

What I wish for you is to never disconnect with your happy self. I’ve seen that side of you – the radiant, loving, and innocent version. You have no idea how much I have been waiting to meet that version of yours again, to tell you how much it means to me to see you happy. While you may not have been the most enthusiastic person, you always had a zest for life. Amidst all this, I do not want you to be distant from yourself. I know how it feels when all you have is hope, and all you long for is that hope to come true. All of us are fighting battles of our own. I don’t want you to lose yourself in the process. All that we try and do is to make sure we get past this.

You may win the battle, but if you’ve lost your spirit, then it will be in vain. It is those tiny moments of joy that will fuel your vigor to fight. Refusing those moments of happiness won’t lead to a meaningful victory. Do not persuade yourself that you’re undeserving of it. The smile that lights up your face despite all the chaos within you is the silver lining you are looking for. I am here to pick you up when you fall, pat you on the back when you win, and rejoice when you celebrate. No matter what happens, I’ll always be with you, and that’s a promise for eternity.

Hugs & reassurances,
A loving friend

Leave a comment